Home » Uncategorized » Romans 1:16–Welcome to the Masquerade 

Romans 1:16–Welcome to the Masquerade 

To start, let me just throw out the disclaimer that the song I am about to mention belongs to one of my favorite bands–Thousand Foot Krutch…#throwupyourrawkfist

Here are the lyrics of the song

We’ve got the fire, who’s got the matches 
Take a look around at the sea of masks 
and come one come all, welcome to the grand ball 
Where the strong run for cover and the weak stand tall 

I’m not one to scatter ashes 
But there’s some things that melt the plastic 
Try and dig down deeper if you can 

I’m not afraid 
I’m not ashamed 
I’m not to blame 
Welcome to the masquerade 
I’m not ashamed 
I’m not afraid 
I’m not okay 
Welcome to the masquerade 
Welcome to the masquerade 

We’ve got the power, who’s got the action 
Break it down till there’s nothing but a mere fraction 
Out of the fire, rise from the ashes 
Reject your doubt and release the passion 
Let’s get on it, believe if you want it 
step into the realm where the real ones flaunt it 
Come back, rewind, another time on it 
Reach out, take that, but now step on it 

I’m not one to scare the masses 
But there’s some things that melt the plastic 
Try and dig down deeper if you can 

I’m not afraid 
I’m not ashamed 
I’m not to blame 
Welcome to the masquerade 
I’m not ashamed 
I’m not afraid 
I’m not okay 
Welcome to the masquerade 
Welcome to the masquerade 

I’m not afraid 
I’m not ashamed 
I’m not to blame 
Welcome to the masquerade 
I’m not ashamed 
I’m not afraid 
I’m not okay 
Welcome to the masquerade 
Welcome to the masquerade 
Welcome to the masquerade 

I’m not one to scatter ashes 
But there’s some things that melt the plastic 
Try and dig down deeper if you can 

I’m not afraid 
I’m not ashamed 
I’m not to blame 
Welcome to the masquerade 
I’m not ashamed 
I’m not afraid 
I’m not okay 
Welcome to the masquerade 
Welcome to the masquerade

Now, at first glance this song might not be making any sense, since it’s talking about throwing off some things and then it “welcomes you to the masquerade.”

I was on a run last night and to help keep the rhythm, I had my Running Playlist going on the Spotify app! This song came on and as I was listening the central theme of the song hit me, despite having heard the song hundreds of times before. And it led me to one piece of Scripture…
“For I am not ashamed of the gospel, for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes, to the Jew first and also to the Greek.”

~Romans 1:16

For the longest time, I thought this passage was constrained to meaning salvation from sin. But it’s salvation from so much more. 

Doubt

Fear 

Loneliness

Whatever you are struggling with, the gospel releases you from it, and replaces it with the most fulfilling relationship you’ll EVER have in your life. A relationship with Christ and by the gospel, God takes us– flaws and all, brings us to Him and begins to work on us to change us into who HE meant us to be. 

So, as the song says: out of the fire, rise from the ashes, reject your doubt and release your passion. The Gospel gives us the power to be:

Unashamed of who we are
Unashamed of God and

Unashamed of the Gospel and God’s Word. 

Welcome to the Masquerade everyone, unmask yourselves.

Leave a Reply

