Home » Uncategorized » Precious

Precious

What’s precious to you?

I’ve been silent for a long time. There’s been a reason for that. I’ve had to take some time to myself to really take stock of what’s been most important to me in my life. I’ve had to rearrange some things in my life, because, ultimately, I haven’t been putting God first. And I’ve been feeling it.

This is a recurrent theme in Scripture.

“I am the Lord your God, you shall have no idols before me.”

“Love the Lord your God with all your mind, heart, and soul.”

“What is the greatest commandment? Love the Lord your God with all your might, and the second is just like it–love your neighbor as yourself.”

God wants to be first in our lives, each and every single dang time. Any time I open my Bible, I get smacked in the face with that theme. There’s another verse, James 4:8, that really boils down all those verses. It says, “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you.”

There is no pausing in a relationship with God, you either keep trying to grow it, or you backslide exponentially faster. And the only way to get back to that original point in your relationship with God is to turn to Him, ask forgiveness, and repent. I have done this the last few weeks and it has extremely been humbling in learning how God has been trying to speak to me these last few months.

I’ve been giving everything to God except really matters–me. What He really wants is what Jesus was trying to get at when the Pharisees asked him if it was right to pay taxes to Caesar.

“Who’s likeness is on the coin?”

“Caesar’s.”

“Then render unto Caesar’s what is Caesar’s, and render unto God what is God’s.”

Jesus is saying that God doesn’t care about anything we give him, except our love, devotion, and attention to His word.

 

 

Leave a Reply

