Home » Uncategorized » Be A Voice

Be A Voice

Today, I am most ashamed. I was forced to look back at my own rhetoric in regards to how I have criticized Barack Obama, and for sure, my own rhetoric was too blunt, some of it written out of anger that evolved out of my zeal for wanting to see our leaders do the right and just thing, and becoming upset that none of them were listening.

I apologize for how I have said things, but not for what the message I was trying to get across. America, in the last 8 years under the leadership, has become like that of Judah in Isaiah 1:1-20.

Hear, O heavens, and give ear, O earth;
    for the Lord has spoken:
“Children[a] have I reared and brought up,
    but they have rebelled against me.
The ox knows its owner,
    and the donkey its master’s crib,
but Israel does not know,
    my people do not understand.”

Ah, sinful nation,
    a people laden with iniquity,
offspring of evildoers,
    children who deal corruptly!
They have forsaken the Lord,
    they have despised the Holy One of Israel,
    they are utterly estranged.

Why will you still be struck down?
    Why will you continue to rebel?
The whole head is sick,
    and the whole heart faint.
From the sole of the foot even to the head,
    there is no soundness in it,
but bruises and sores
    and raw wounds;
they are not pressed out or bound up
    or softened with oil.

Your country lies desolate;
    your cities are burned with fire;
in your very presence
    foreigners devour your land;
    it is desolate, as overthrown by foreigners.
And the daughter of Zion is left
    like a booth in a vineyard,
like a lodge in a cucumber field,
    like a besieged city.

If the Lord of hosts
    had not left us a few survivors,
we should have been like Sodom,
    and become like Gomorrah.

10 Hear the word of the Lord,
    you rulers of Sodom!
Give ear to the teaching[b] of our God,
    you people of Gomorrah!
11 “What to me is the multitude of your sacrifices?
    says the Lord;
I have had enough of burnt offerings of rams
    and the fat of well-fed beasts;
I do not delight in the blood of bulls,
    or of lambs, or of goats.

12 “When you come to appear before me,
    who has required of you
    this trampling of my courts?
13 Bring no more vain offerings;
    incense is an abomination to me.
New moon and Sabbath and the calling of convocations—
    I cannot endure iniquity and solemn assembly.
14 Your new moons and your appointed feasts
    my soul hates;
they have become a burden to me;
    I am weary of bearing them.
15 When you spread out your hands,
    I will hide my eyes from you;
even though you make many prayers,
    I will not listen;
    your hands are full of blood.
16 Wash yourselves; make yourselves clean;
    remove the evil of your deeds from before my eyes;
cease to do evil,
17     learn to do good;
seek justice,
    correct oppression;
bring justice to the fatherless,
    plead the widow’s cause.

18 “Come now, let us reason[c] together, says the Lord:
though your sins are like scarlet,
    they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red like crimson,
    they shall become like wool.
19 If you are willing and obedient,
    you shall eat the good of the land;
20 but if you refuse and rebel,
    you shall be eaten by the sword;
    for the mouth of the Lord has spoken.”

I have been criticized today in the worse way possible. The tone of the message from the person was that of being called a hypocrite and un-Christian because I didn’t follow what the Bible says about submitting myself to the authorities–all because I took to calling attention to what Obama was doing as unconstitutional and illegal, and the reason this person said this is that I called people out for not accepting Trump as president, but this person accused me of not accepting Obama as president since I saw fit to criticize his actions.

To explain a bit why I will criticize any president who goes outside bounds of the U.S. Constitution. The Constitution was created to constrain the depravity of the human will, for if unbound and unchecked, the human will can wreak havoc on it’s fellow man, and anyone who disagrees with said human will, will face repercussions, which can be fatal to such dissenters. For me, God created through the men at Independence Hall during the Constitutional Convention of 1787, the US Constitution and that is meant to be the law of the land, for it creates the offices of the government’s leadership. I accept and respect those offices and whoever holds them, but that does not mean I will not criticize when the human will starts to go off and gratify its wants and desires with no regard to who it hurts and no regard to the rule of law.

Now, I shared a piece of Scripture earlier from Isaiah. Along with this can go Ezekiel 33:1-9 and 2 Samuel 12:1-15. I will address each in turn.

First, in hindsight, I guess I should have shared Ezekiel first before the Isaiah passage, but here goes. Ezekiel, in chapter 33, calls himself Israel’s Watchman. Now, to use the Roman military as a prime example, any soldier found sleeping while on watch/guard duty, was to be executed. No trial, just an on the spot execution. To fall asleep when you hold the lives of other people in your hands when you’re in a war was the most grievous thing to do. Those men counted on you to sound the alarm if an attack was coming. This is how Ezekiel is using the position of a watchman–to sound an alarm when something bad was coming. For the believer, this is a prime duty for him or her to do–to warn others of what can happen when you depart from God and when you follow God the benefits that can come from that. If I fail in this duty and people die in their sin and folly, God will require me to answer for their deaths. But if I do warn them of their folly, and they refuse to listen, God will require them to answer for their own deaths.

This is where the Isaiah passage comes into play for me and my shouts, mainly on social media, comes in. I see America in the last 8 years, following that trend. Paying only lip service to God with empty promises and prayers, while going and committing great wickedness in God’s eyes and against His people. And this is all God wants from His people:

learn to do good;
seek justice,
    correct oppression;
bring justice to the fatherless,
    plead the widow’s cause.

I firmly believe that my leaders over the last 8 years have wanted to succeed at this, I really do. But in doing so, they oppressed others and did injustice to others because they ultimately didn’t share their view on certain things, and those others are generally the people who only wanted to follow God in everything they did.

And so, those of us who can and do have an understanding of such things, we have a responsibility to make our leaders aware of such follies, lest they keep doing things the way they are to their own spirits’ detriment. At this, I have not been as soft spoken as I could have been, wishing only to see things as the Founding Fathers’ would have wanted in America. I can only hope that I will be going forward. I truly wish to see this country unite, with people coming together who don’t necessarily agree on everything, but agree on the simple principle of liberty and justice for all.

And that’s where the 2 Samuel passage comes in, being bold to speak out against atrocities, oppression, and all around evil when it rears its ugly head. That’s not to say that the person perpetrating the act is evil, he or she may have committed the act without knowing its full consequences. Not so in the case of 2 Samuel 12. David knew he committed murder and adultery. That’s why he tried to cover it up. But as believers, we may not necessarily have Christian leaders, but we can be sure to hold them to what God wants in Isaiah, and make them see that what they are doing is hurting people. Daniel and Jeremiah both did it with their respective leaders, though to their great detriment, they both had nasty falls from power. John the Baptist did it with Herod, but for saying what Herod did was adultery, John the Baptist lost his head.

To be certain, I did not vote for either of the prime candidates in the recent election, but whoever had been chosen to have the title of president, I would have kept a close eye on him or her. I am a champion of everyone’s American freedoms and rights. The Bill of Rights recognizes no color, creed, sex, sexual orientation, or gender. I will fight for those who I disagree with, for if I lose those freedoms, then everyone loses.

I pray that Trump will prove me wrong in his presidency. I pray for the entire leadership to turn to God and recognize His supremacy. And I will hold them to highest standard in the land. Not the Bible, since they necessarily won’t hold themselves to it, but rather the U.S. Constitution. For God instilled that as the Supreme Law of the Land, and it will be what I go by.

Leave a Reply

