Home » Uncategorized » Dear X, You Don’t Own Me

Dear X, You Don’t Own Me

So, I had a blast last night. I went to a concert here in Omaha where my favorite band, Red, would be playing their Tenth Anniversary Tour. Traveling with them were the bands Spoken, Random Hero, and Disciple.

Spoken and Random Hero I had never heard of before, but after Red, Disciple is an extremely close second.

Here’s an awesome picture of the lead singer of Red, Michael Barnes, by the way…

img_0054

And if that isn’t enough, check out this video of them playing.

 

 

 

But I digress.

This post is actually about the first song, the one I had you listen to at the beginning of this post.

That song by Disciple always spoke to me, and it is, by far, my favorite song they have ever produced. It speaks of how the things that are poison in our life no longer own us and a part of our identity since we found and have our identity in Christ. So, I would just like to share (gulp) my own letters to my own slave masters and demons that would try to drag me away from my God and Savior, Jesus Christ.

So, without further delay…

Dear Anger,

You arose out of a sense of abandonment. I was angry that I had an absent father in my life and I felt that it was my fault that he left my mom, brother, and I. You took root in my heart and it was my friends who paid the price. I always had a hard time making friends, and I always thought it was just because no one wanted to be friends with me, and how could they be friends when I had a huge amount of anger stored in my heart and any time someone tried to get close to me, I pushed them away and made sure they felt my anger.

Dear Lust,

You, by far, have been my biggest enemy. You have poisoned my view of women into something that they are not. Instead of looking at women in a way that God sees them–beautiful treasures to be loved, my view of women came to the point of thinking a girl is sexy, banging, or just thinking she’d be a great lay. It took me forever for me to realize what you were–a poison that had entered my life and hurt women.

Dear Greed,

You have seriously been the sneakiest of all the sins in my life. You can come in many forms: love of work, money, women, etc. And it’s really easy to get extremely caught up in all those and I forget constantly who should be first in my life. Before I know, I am trapped with an idol in my heart that I had never wanted to be there in the first place. But by the time I realize it, it’s too late!

But for all this, you no longer have any hold over my spirit anymore. My identity is found in Christ above, and like the song says–when Satan tells me of the sin and despair within, upward I look and I see Christ there pleading for me!

To those of you who are still battling demons in your life, they will never truly go away. Know that Satan will ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS tries to draw you away from your relationship with God and Christ. You are no longer under Satan’s power, but under the power of Christ, and nothing can take you out of HIS hand once you make Him the shepherd of your life!

You are a DISCIPLE of Christ Jesus!

Leave a Reply

