Home » Uncategorized » One is the Loneliest Number

One is the Loneliest Number

So, the title is a little depressing, so here’s a bit of comic relief to start off…

f0659ae89bd50232a1dcf789f5ee4f23

 

And if you don’t get that joke, that’s even sadder than the title.

But, on to what’s going on. So, I have moved recently. Over the course of the summer and since I graduated college, I was settling into my new career here in Omaha, staying with friends in a quaint little house on the edge of a forest sitting about a mile and a half from the Missouri River. But I was only living there temporarily, meaning that I was taking someone’s spot for the summer until he came back from his home for the new upcoming school year in the middle of August. This past summer has been a blast because I was in a tight community of friends that I had become extremely close with and enjoyed being around, and I was living with them. The brotherhood was tight. But, as it is with life, all good things must come to an end. I had to find a new place in the recent couple of weeks, get settled in, all the while trying to do my job at the same time while taking on new responsibilities in my church–becoming the director of adult education and beginning training to be an elder.

But since the move, I have felt one thing consistently–loneliness. It’s definitely something that is felt and can be extremely depressing if you let it take a hold of you for too long. I was use to a ton of fellowship with my friends, but now that I’m not with them each evening at their house, I don’t feel that tight fellowship anymore–it’s been reduced.

No, I’m not complaining about the lack of attention or saying it’s all about me, me me.

a8mzbwy_700b

I’m definitely not saying I’m two years old (I do act my shoe size though sometimes, that happens to be size 16) and that the whole world and everyone in it should revolve around me. RABBIT TRAIL FOR YOU READERS–saying some of this reminded me of something…

itsatrap

But back to loneliness.

It’s a tough thing that happens when you have a good support system, but that support system all of a sudden changes in a way that hits you hard and you haven’t had time to adjust for it. In all of it though, you must not put your faith and reliance in people, but put it all in Christ, for that remains the same, regardless of where you are. As I’m sitting here now, in the dark with only my desk lamp for light, in the quiet with the only noises going on are the passing of cars on the street and the soft, rhythmic chirping of crickets, I feel lonely. I don’t know, maybe I am blowing this out of proportion and I just need a girlfriend or something, but I’m constantly reminded that Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever. He will never leave me nor forsake me, even if it’s something as simple as a new place I am living in–the loneliness is tough to get by, but my focus is upon Christ and life gets easier when all your attention is focused upon him.

I’m reminded of a song called In the Secret. My favorite rendition of it is by SonicFlood. Awesome song talking about knowing God in the secret and quiet places of the world and that God is found in everything.

Now, I’ve got to get to finding a girl so she can listen to my annoying troubles instead of you guys having to suffer through them haha!!

 

2032e59bec7869971b623f5aac4f23e98e3272d17212084d6fcc2a1a28920df7

Leave a Reply

