Home » Uncategorized » What If I Stumble?

What If I Stumble?

 

 

 

 

 

 

20130728-091311

Ever wondered what God thought of you?

Ever just thought that the mistake you just made or thought you just had made God leave you? That you thought you were worthless before God? Here’s the thing–before you were in Christ, that was true. I’m not trying to be harsh to you here, but that’s what the Bible teaches. If you read Ephesians 2:1-10 (MY favorite passage of Scripture) the very first words are this:

“And you were dead in the trespasses and sins…”

You had nothing to offer to God when you were in your life of sin still, but as the passage continues, Paul writes that God was rich in mercy and He did everything to open up the door for you to be with Him in eternity, and by doing that, God gave you infinite worth through the death and resurrection of His son, Jesus Christ.

That was before you were in Christ…

Now, the title of this addresses the question of “What If I Stumble?” And I do know there are those of you in different situations. I have met a lot of those people personally in my own life–People who are:

  1. Young in their faith and therefore, not as strong
  2. Ones that lost their way and were led down a dark path
  3. Had something happen in their life that seriously shook up their faith
  4. Are struggling with a particular sin/lifestyle or have overcome it but constantly face going back to it.

Here’s the thing: you will stumble. You will fail at some point. You will have nights where you sit in your room and SCREAM at God with a litany of questions. It’s happened to me quite a lot over the years, namely over why I did not have a father in my life. And the wonderful thing about God is He takes our screams, He’s that friend who sits silently and listens to you while you scream at Him, question Him, and even blame Him for things that aren’t His fault, are never His fault. And then, with tears streaming down your face, eyes so red it looks like you had the night of all nights of drinking, your voice hoarse from screaming into your pillow, God says four little words to you that just silences all thoughts in your mind:

“I know your pain.”

God has experienced everything we have–pain, sorrow, hunger, anger, stress, and whatever you can think of–He experienced it in the person of Jesus Christ–Fully man and Fully God.

And I know something else that goes through your mind with this–you think that God expects ultimate perfection from you. And most of the time, people will quote “Be holy for your God in heaven is holy.” And that is such an unrealistic expectation–God knows you can’t be holy for only God is holy. However, Paul writes in 2 Timothy 2:15:

“Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth.”

What are the first three words? Do. Your. Best. God doesn’t want you to stick to a bunch of rules in order to please Him. He wants your love, your time. He wants you, and He’s willing to stick with you through the most difficult of times, and He will be there to pick you up when you fall. Sin is the most trickiest of things in our lives, it can cloak itself in anything and be offering something to you that you think won’t hurt you, but in fact can. Sin is our biggest enemy, according to John Piper. According to him, in the book of Romans, Satan isn’t mentioned until the very end. It’s all about sin.

But I digress.

I can’t say I know exactly the kind of pain you are feeling, I haven’t gone through it. I do know the spiritual pain though–thinking you’ve disappointed everyone including God, thinking you can’t do anything right. So, I leave you with two things here, one is a song by Lecrae called Indwelling Sin, and the other is a fairly well known poem, as it were, called Footprints in the Sand.

 

 

footprints-in-the-sand-source

I am there with you in spirit, struggling with you. My prayers go out to you, my friends. Please, if you need to talk, want a personal prayer from me, please don’t hesitate to email me at birdt2007@gmail.com. I would love to offer any kind of advice, be a listening ear, and pray with you if you need it.

Leave a Reply

